Remasters vs Originals

• Hi everyone, first time I've posted here in a long time, and I have a new email address so I've started from scratch again...

I'm curious about something, so I thought I'd get people's opinion.

I've been trying for some time to get along with the remasters, but I have finally given up. I appreciate that sonically they sound great, albeit too much compression for me, but I think it's the vocals that ruin them for me.

I got into Genesis in 1980 and started with Duke and Foxtrot. Ive been listening to those versions for 40 years now, and I got every other album within in a year. And I have listened to them a LOT, to the point where I know every note and nuance.

Was listening to ATOTT last night and the vocals are just too different for my liking - eg some harmonies too prominent, some parts too subdued. Some vocals are so different they sound like different versions, even though I know they're not.

To be fair I prefer SO as you can actually hear Steve a bit..

It's like when the Beatles mono box set was released - they were just a bit too different from the version I've listened to over the years.

I think it's a shame as I would like new and improved versions of the masters, but the new ones are too different for me

Anyone else in the same boat?

• I guess you are talking abut the new mixes from 2007/8?d

For me the vocals are a real improvement. I Do not listen to the old Definite Edition Remaster anymore and whenever I can I put on the 5.1 versions

• And I think that's the dilemma for me. Everything "sounds" better, clearer, punchier. But they sound TOO different to my ears - to albums I've listened to for 30-40 years

• I prefer the 1994 remasters, EXCEPT for Foxtrot, where the old mix sounded just badly produced. Despite the changes, I think the new one is an improvement.

Ian

Putting the old-fashioned Staffordshire plate in the dishwasher!