Posts by Dr. John

Regarding the sudden change from part 1 to part 2 and the feeling that it's something of a shotgun marriage, it's probably mainly explained by the lyric sheet on the original EP back cover. Above the lyrics it says 'INSIDE', below them it says 'OUT'. ie, the upbeat instrumental represents his release.

Ahh, I'm still learning new things from this board. My only version of the EP before the box sets was a mini-CD, where all the lyrics were so tiny that I didn't even both looking at them carefully. OK, so I get that the change in mood and feel was perhaps intentional. Thanks.

I gave it a 12. The main song is good, with its gentle guitar arpeggios and sweet melody. I thought they should have transposed it to a different key so that the whole chorus doesn't have to be in a high falsetto, which weakens it a bit too much. Consider a song like Ripples, where the chorus just soars because it is still mainly in Phil's higher chest-voice range. I've always been a tad uncomfortable with the lyrics. For how I interpret them, a woman initiates a sexual encounter and then a man goes to jail, the implication being that she changes her story and blames him: "If what she says is so..."

My favourite part of the song is the ending instrumental, with a great keyboard solo by Tony and a skittering guitar solo from Steve. My problem with this section is that it sounds just stuck on, with no musical relationship with the main song (if there is a relationship, I can't find it). Obviously this happens with other great Genesis songs, e.g., The Cinema Show. However the transition here is particularly sudden and jarring, whereas the transition in other songs is more smooth.

So many great things about it for me and also some reservations.

Here's an obvious example of these being live vocals:

In the Kracow performance, he has his mic in the right position to catch the full line of "Come on, come on help me do":

External Content youtu.be