Deutscher Genesis Fanclub it: Startseite
Deutscher Genesis Fanclub it
Choose artist

Ray Wilson The Weight Of Man Interview
Surrender Of Silence
The Last Domino? Tour

Nick Magnus: New album "Catharsis" out soon

Album includes contributions from the Hackett camp

Nick Magnus is familiar to many Steve Hackett fans as a band member of the early Steve Hackett band. Nick and Steve stayed in touch and Nick also appeared as a special guest at the Steve Hackett Event in Germany 2009. Nick has released a couple of solo albums, i.e. Hexameron, Children Of Another God and n'monix, which were both received well and both had an interesting guest list of musicians.

Nick has now announced his next studio album. Catharsis will be released on 30th September. It is inspired by the landscape and legends of the Ariège in the French Pyrénées.

The album comes in a Limited Deluxe 36-Page Hardback Media-Book, which contains the album on CD plus a DVD featuring a track-by-track documentary film presented by Nick. The film also contains video performances of tracks from Catharsis that feature Amanda Lehmann and Tony Patterson vocal performances. Two full-length Videos that were produced for Nick’s 2014 n’monix album are also included on the DVD.

With music production / keyboards / choirs / percussion (plus some vocal contributions) by Nick Magnus, lyrics (plus video graphics / production) by Dick Foster and an array of guest musicians and singers: Pete Hicks (ex-Steve Hackett band - vocals), Tony Patterson (RE-GENESIS - vocals), Andy Neve (vocals), Steve Hackett (guitar), Amanda Lehmann (Steve Hackett band - vocals) and Steve Unruh (UPF / RESISTOR / SAMURAI OF PROG - violin), this is another melody fuelled epic production from Nick Magnus.

“Travelling to new destinations is exciting, educational, and always inspirational. Some places, though, call you back time and time again. The Ariège region in the French Pyrénées is one such place. Here mountains, caves, stunning vistas and centuries of often-turbulent history cry out to be translated into music - and so we did. Each track marks a much-loved place in the Ariège, or a time in its history, real or imagined.  For me, when music tells a story it should evoke emotions and conjure images, so I've tried to capture a sense of drama, humour and grandeur in a thoughtful reflection of this alluring part of France.  If you've ever visited the Ariège, perhaps you fell in love with it too.”  Nick

Track List [CD]:
01 Red Blood On White Stone (8:47)
02 Three Tall Towers (4:56)
03 Convivium [instrumental] (3:22)
04 Devil's Bridge (4:35)
05 Market At Mirepoix (4:22)
06 Gathering Mists [instrumental] (2:45)
07 A Widow In Black (5:05)
08 Mountain Mother (13:35)

Nick Magnus - vocals track 1, 5, backing vocals track 7
Steve Hackett - guitar track 1
Pete Hicks - vocals track 2
Tony Patterson - vocals track 4, 8
Andy Neve - vocals track 1
Amanda Lehmann - vocals track 7
Steve Unruh - violin track 5

Track List [DVD Video]:
01 Adventures In The Ariège [The Movie - feat. Previously Unreleased Nick Magnus music] (20:42)
02 Eminent Victorians [2014 ‘N’monix’ album video feat. Pete Hicks – vocal / Steve Hackett - guitar] (7:19)
03 Shadowland [2014 ‘N’monix’ album video – feat. Steve Hackett] (2:53)

Autographed copies of Catharsis are available to Pre-Order. To request this when placing your order via the CDS on-line store, please add the text “Autographed Copy Please” to the box in the shopping cart headed: "Any Comments / Special Requirements?"

Once the Limited Edition Media-Book sells-out, Catharsis will revert to a Digipak Edition

Catharsis Nick Magnus

published on 16.09.19 14:19 by Christian @ Nick Magnus

Nick Magnus: New album "Catharsis" out soon Comments:

Kein Kommentar möglich

If you want to submit a comment, you will have to log in!