Posts by Backdrifter

Improv theatre, anybody? I am a musician for improv theatre groups, there is quite a scene here at my place. I hardly ever go watch it myself though.

I also meant to say, at the Fringe this year are some improv theatre shows and one in which it's a different unrehearsed performer each time who has no prior knowledge of the show. I saw one such production many years ago and it was okay, but I couldn't help feeling that it was unsurprisingly a bit rough. I'm not planning to book for anything like that.

Sausage sizzles. I can never be bothered. We turn up, cast our vote at my daughter's old primary school, and leave.

Are the sizzles otherwise well attended from what you can see?

I gather there are notionally fines for not voting but I'm not sure how they're applied or how the miscreants are identified.

As to the earlier reference to protest voting/ballot spoiling vs abstaining, to me it's clearly taking some action that sends the clearest message of discontent. Abstaining simply leads to lower turnout, which can be interpreted a number of ways including apathy, assuming your incumbent will win therefore shrugging and not bothering - which itself could mean tacit support or opposition - or broad protest against the system, as well as any number of other reasons for disengagement or simply not making it to the polling station in time despite intending to.

Abstaining is therefore unspecified absence, whereas spoiling the paper or voting for a 'minority' candidate is an instantly measurable action that is far more likely to send a tangible message.

Although IWIWRD answered you with a yes, I will also answer! Yes, all you have to do is turn up and have your name signed off by the checkers at the polling both, take the ballot paper, do what you like with it, then put it in the ballot box. You don't need ID.

Are there still democracy sausages?

(I think I saw Democracy Sausages supporting Crispy Ambulance at Hammersmith Palais in 1981).