Posts by MoonlitKnight

It strikes me that this whole “Punk vs Prog” thing is mainly a British (perhaps more broadly European?) phenomenon. I graduated from high school in the US in 1979 and can say that right up until the end of the 70s at my school there were at least a decent amount of prog fans. I remember quite clearly receiving ATTWT for my birthday and some of my classmates bemoaning the fact that they thought Genesis was beginning to move away from their classic prog period.

RIP indeed. I wish I could figure out how to create a new thread on this board using my iPhone. I tried to do so last night about Crosby as soon as I heard the news. I loved the man’s voice. He and Phil sounded sublime on Another Day in ParadiS.

RIP David Crosby

External Content youtu.be
    Content embedded from external sources will not be displayed without your consent.
    Through the activation of external content, you agree that personal data may be transferred to third party platforms. We have provided more information on this in our privacy policy.

Just a couple of quick additional comments about last night’s show (which was superb!). The band played the US setlist, which featured DWTMK played into Squonk (instead of played into Carpet Crawlers). One other surprise was the first encore they played last night was Back in NYC. I know that song was played at a few Duke Tour shows back in 1980, including Philly. But I have to say the large majority of people around me seemed not to recognize Back in NYC and just sat there staring. However IKWIL got everyone up and rocking again. Lots of dancing along the walls and in the aisles at various points last night :D

It was worth the drive, wasn’t it? 😎

As usual, the show was outstanding AND, despite the show being on a very cold Saturday night in the middle of January, it was completely sold out! The Philadelphia area loves Genesis any time of the year.