Posts by Henry Hamilton-Smythe

Is there video anywhere that shows the first use of the Vari-lite in concert. From what I've read it was on the ABACAB tour during the song DODO. I've looked on youtube but couldn't find it. I was hoping someone here might know if it exists.

Can't help you with the video. But, I was at one of the first American concerts on that tour, and there was a stunned reaction from the crowd when the lights were first used.

I've been hearing these rumors for 2-3 years, but nothing recently. I'm guessing there is nothing happening on that front.

Similarly, there were rumors a year or two ago about a 3-disc set of From Genesis to Revelation. Nothing has come of that either. I think that one could have been quite interesting if they were able to include the songs without the strings added on.

I love allmusic.com, but accuracy is not always their strongest attribute. Before I sent in a correction many years ago, their review of Seconds Out mentioned Phil's fine keyboard solo in Robbery, Assault and Battery

And there's this from their Lamb review (which they gave 5 stars)

. Even if the story is rather hard to piece together, the album is set up in a remarkable fashion, with the first LP being devoted to pop-oriented rock songs and the second being largely devoted to instrumentals.

Um, no. There are all of 3 instrumentals on the 2nd LP, two of them being very brief interludes.

I have almost all the solo stuff by the "big six" (classic line-up plus Phillips), other than a few of the more recent Phil Collins and Mike + the Mechanics stuff.

Banks' solo stuff is a mixed bag....some really good stuff with some really mediocre stuff. His choice of vocalists wasn't always great. The classical albums are okay, but classical isn't my cup of tea....and Tony doesn't even really play on most of the cuts on the classical ones. Or if he does, you can't really hear him.