Deutscher Genesis Fanclub it: Startseite
Deutscher Genesis Fanclub it
Choose artist

Brand X Special: An Urorthodox History
Not Dead Yet live
Richard Macphail Ma Book Of Genesis
Phil Collins Plays Well With Others

Phil Collins Plays Well With Others (4CD-Set)

New boxset with plenty of collaboration stuff

There were rumours about a boxset with collaborations by Phil Collins with other artists since the Take A Look At Me Now campaign was launched in 2015. Now it has been revealed that a 4CD-Set called Plays Well With Others will be released by the end of September in 2018. It can already be preordered at iTunes,, or amazon-uk and other retailers).

Discuss this release in our new forum here.

Plays Well With Others

The set contains 3 CDs of studio material in more or less chronological order and another CD with live material. This is the complete tracklist:

Disc 1
01 Flaming Youth: Guide Me Orion
02 Peter Banks: Knights (Reprise)
03 Eugene Wallace: Don't You Feel It
04 Rod Argent: I Can't Remember, But Yes
05 Brian Eno: Over Fire Island
06 Tommy Bolin: Savannah Woman
07 John Cale: Pablo Picasso
08 Brand X: Nuclear Burn
09 Brian Eno: No One Receiving
10 Rod Argent: Home
11 Brian Eno: M386
12 Brand X: ...And So To F...
13 Robert Fripp: North Star
14 John Martyn: Sweet Little Mystery
15 Peter Gabriel: Intruder
16 Frida: I Know There's Something Going On
17 Robert Plant: Pledge Pin
18 Gary Brooker: Lead Me To The Water

Disc 2
01 Robert Plant: In The Mood
02 Al di Meola: Island Dreamer
03 Adam Ant: Puss 'N' Boots
04 Philip Bailey: Walking On The Chinese Wall
05 Band Aid: Do They Know It's Christmas?
06 Eric Clapton: Just Like A Prisoner
07 Philip Bailey: Because Of You
08 Chaka Khan: Watching The World
09 Howard Jones: No One Is To Blame
10 The Isley Brothers: If Leaving Me Is Easy
11 Paul McCartney: Angry
12 The Four Tops: Loco In Acapulco
13 Stephen Bishop: Walking On Air
14 Stephen Bishop: Hall Light
15 Tears For Fears: Woman In Chains
16 Burn Down The Mission

Disc 3
01 Genesis: No Son Of Mine
02 John Martyn: Could've Been Me
03 David Crosby: Hero
04 John Martyn: Ways To Cry
05 I've Been Trying
06 Quincy Jones: Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me
07 Fourplay: Why Can't It Wait Till Moing
08 John Martyn: Suzanne
09 Laura Pausini: Looking For An Angel
10 George Martin: Golden Slumbers / Carry That Weight / The End
11 Lil'Kim: In the Air Tonite (feat. Phil Collins)
12 Welcome
13 John Martyn: Can't Turn Back The Years

Disc 4
01 In The Air Tonight (Live at the Secret Policeman's Other Ball)
02 George Harrison: While My Guitar Gently Weeps (Live at the Prince's Trust Concert 1987)
03 Bee Gees: You Win Again (Live at the Prince's Trust Concert 1988)
04 Phil Collins & Tony Bennett: There'll Be Some Changes Made (Live in Montreux 2004)
05 Phil Collins & Quincy Jones: Stormy Weather (Live at The Montreux Jazz Festival 1996)
06 The Phil Collins Big Band: Chips & Salsa
07 Birdland (with The Buddy Rich Big Band)
08 The Phil Collins Big Band: Pick Up The Pieces (Live at The Montreux Jazz Festival 1998)
09 Eric Clapton: Layla (Live at Party At The Palace, June 3, 2002)
10 Annie Lennox: Why (Live at Party At The Palace, June 3, 2002)
11 Bryan Adams: (Everything I Do) I Do It For You [Live at Party At The Palace, June 3, 2002]
12 Joe Cocker: With A Little Help From My Friends (Live at Party At The Palace, June 3, 2002)

A project like this can never be complete, expecially when it comes to someone like Phil Collins, who virtually has played with everyone over the years. Apart from selecting tracks for such a set, the whole license issue surely is a problem as well, so what we have here actually is an interesting collection of collaborations from Phil Collins from the very beginnings with Flaming Youth.